Political Conditions in Belgium

Overview by Globlatrade.net:
Type of State
Belgium is a federal parliamentary democracy under a constitutional monarch.
Executive Power
Chief of the state is the King, who plays a largely ceremonial and symbolic role. King's primary political function is to designate a political leader (Prime Minister) to form a new government. Following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party (or the leader of the majority coalition) is usually appointed Prime Minister by the King and then approved by the parliament for a four-year term.
The King, on recommendation of the Prime Minister formally appoint Council of Ministers. At the federal level, executive power is wielded by the Council of Ministers. The Prime Minister chairs the Council. Each minister heads a governmental department.
Legislative Power
The Belgian Parliament consists of the Senate and the Chamber of Representatives. The Chamber has 150 directly elected members. The Senate has 71 members.
Main Political Parties
Political parties in Belgium are divided on the basis of community and linguistic lines into two groups:
- Flemish parties: VLD (Flemish Liberal Democrats), CD&V (Flemish Christian Democrats Party), SP.A/Spirit (the Flemish Socialists and Spirit alliance), GROEN! (formerly AGALEV, Flemish Greens); NVA (New Flemish Alliance) and the right-wing VB (Flemish Interest);
- Francophone parties: PS (Socialist Party), MR (Reformist Movement), ECOLO (Francophone Greens); CDH (Humanist and Democratic Center) and FN (National Front).
Current Political Leaders
King: ALBERT II (since August 1993);
Heir Apparent: Prince PHILIPPE, son of the present King.
Prime Minister: Yves Leterme (since November 2009);
Minister-President of Flemish Government (Region and Community): Kris Peeters (CD&V);
Minister-President of French Community Government: Rudy Demotte (PS) Minister-President of Walloon Regional Government: Rudy Demotte (PS);
Minister-President of Brussels-Capital Regional Government: Charles Picqué (PS);
Minister-President of German Community Government: Karl-Heinz Lambertz (SP).
Next Election Dates
Senate and Chamber of Deputies : June 2011.
Communal and provincial elections in October 2012.

Indicator of Freedom of the Press

World Rank:
4 places down compared to 2008

Source: Worldwide Press Freedom Index 2009, Reporters Without Borders


Indicator of Political Freedom

Political Freedom:
Civil Liberties:

Map of freedom 2010
Source: Freedom House

Any Comments About This Content? Report It to Us.

Read more See less
Experts Views (1)
Post your content


Post content about Political Conditions in Belgium and you will be listed here to receive requests for offers.

Contact our expert contributor
  • U.S. Commercial Service

    US GovTrade Promotion, the United States