Political Conditions in Germany

Overview by Globlatrade.net:
Type of State
Germany has 16 States or provinces, which have local governments and legislatures that enjoy considerable decentralization in relation to the federal government.
Executive Power
The Head of government is the Chancellor, who is elected by absolute majority in the Federal Assembly for a four year term.The Chancellor holds the executive power, which includes implementing the law and managing the everyday business of the country. The Federal Ministers (Council of Ministers) are appointed by the president on the recommendation of the Chancellor.


The Head of State is the President. He is elected for a five year term by the Federal Convention (which includes the members of the Federal Assembly and an equal number of delegates elected by the provincial legislatures). The role of the president is mainly ceremonial.

Legislative Power
The legislative power in Germany is bicameral. The parliament is made up of two houses: the Federal Assembly (the lower house), with 613 seats, whose members are elected by universal suffrage combining proportional and direct representation, for a four year term. And the Federal Council (upper house), with 69 seats, whose members are delegates from the 16 provinces of the country for a 4 year term. There are no elections for the Federal Council. Its composition is determined by that of the provincial governments. The government depends directly or indirectly on the support of parliament, generally expressed by a vote of confidence. The Chancellor cannot dissolve parliament directly, but he can recommend its dissolution to the president if there is a vote of no confidence within the Federal Assembly. Legislative power belongs both to the government and the parliament. German citizens enjoy considerable political rights.
Main Political Parties
- Christian Democratic Union (CDU): conservatives
- Christian-Social Union (CSU): conservatives
- Social Democratic Party (SPD): social democrats
- Free Democratic Party (FDP): liberals
- Bündnis90/die Gruenen: left/green
Current Political Leaders
President : Horst KOEHLER (CDU) since July 2004 (re-elected in May 2009).
Chancellor : Angela MERKEL (since November 2005) CDU, head of a coalition backed by the CSU and the SPD.
Next Election Dates
Chancellor: November 2013

Indicator of Freedom of the Press

World Rank:
2 places up compared to 2008

Source: Worldwide Press Freedom Index 2009, Reporters Without Borders


Indicator of Political Freedom

Political Freedom:
Civil Liberties:

Map of freedom 2010
Source: Freedom House

Any Comments About This Content? Report It to Us.

Read more See less

No content has been posted to this folder yet.
Be the first to feature your expertise related to Political Conditions in Germany!

  • Post any content you may have that features your expertise, such as a text article with business tips, presentation, market report, etc
  • By sharing your knowledge you gain more visibility for your profile not only on GlobalTrade.net but across the web

Post your content now by simply clicking on the button below.

Check these folders already populated with content posted by other users:

Click here to find out more about key benefits and instructions for contributing to the site.


Post any content you may have that features your expertise and offers valuable information to the international trade community.

The more informative content you post the more visible your will be, as your valuable content will link directly to your profile.

Check these sample pages for illustration: