Political Conditions in Poland

Overview by Globlatrade.net:
Type of State
Poland (official name: Republic of Poland) is a republic based on parliamentary democracy. The country joined the European Union in May 2004.
Executive Power
The President is the head of State, elected by universal suffrage for a five year term. The Prime Minister is the head of the government. He is appointed by the President, an appointment which must be confirmed by the lower house of Parliament (as a general rule, he is the leader of the majority party or coalition), for a four year term of office. The Prime Minister holds the executive power, which includes the enforcement of the law and the management of the country's current affairs. The Council of Ministers is proposed by the Prime Minister and approved by the lower house before being appointed by the President.
Legislative Power
The legislative power in Poland is bi-cameral. Parliament is composed of the Senate (upper house, which has 100 seats and whose members are elected by a majority vote on a provincial basis, for a four year term of office) and of the Sejm (lower house, which has 460 seats and whose members are elected by a complex system of proportional representation, for a four year term of office). The President has the right to veto legislation passed by Parliament, but the latter can supplant him by a majority of two thirds of the Sejm.
Main Political Parties
Poland has a multi-party system and is generally governed by a coalition government. The country's main political parties are:
- The SLD (Democratic Left Alliance), a successor of the communist party, recast as a social democratic party;
- The PO (Civic Platform), a liberal conservative party;
- The PD (Democratic Party), a liberal social party;
- The UP (Labour Union), a social democratic party rooted in the anti-communist opposition;
- The PiS (Law and Justice), a right wing group based on a platform of law and order;
- The LPR (Polish Family League), an extreme right nationalist and Roman Catholic party (anti EU);
- The PSL (Polish Peasant Party), a group situated center left, representing the farming community;
- The SRP (Self defense of the Polish Republic), a left wing party with the Polish unions.
Current Political Leaders
President : Bronislaw Komorowski (President by interim until next elections)
Prime Minister: Donald TUSK (since 16 November 2007)
Deputy Prime Ministers: Waldemar PAWLAK (since 16 November 2007) and Grzegorz SCHETYNA (since 16 November 2007)
Next Election Dates
Presidential elections: October 2015
Sejm : October 2011

Indicator of Freedom of the Press

World Rank:
12 places up compared to 2008

Source: Worldwide Press Freedom Index 2009, Reporters Without Borders


Indicator of Political Freedom

Political Freedom:
Civil Liberties:

Map of freedom 2010
Source: Freedom House

Any Comments About This Content? Report It to Us.

Read more See less

No content has been posted to this folder yet.
Be the first to feature your expertise related to Political Conditions in Poland!

  • Post any content you may have that features your expertise, such as a text article with business tips, presentation, market report, etc
  • By sharing your knowledge you gain more visibility for your profile not only on GlobalTrade.net but across the web

Post your content now by simply clicking on the button below.

Check these folders already populated with content posted by other users:

Click here to find out more about key benefits and instructions for contributing to the site.


Post any content you may have that features your expertise and offers valuable information to the international trade community.

The more informative content you post the more visible your will be, as your valuable content will link directly to your profile.

Check these sample pages for illustration: