Supply Chain Logistics News from The Journal of Commerce

A Lastest News about Containerization in the United States

Last updated: 23 May 2012
Delivering Global Trade News and Logistics Intelligence since 1827

Latest news about Supply Chain Logistics News from The Journal of Commerce:
  • IPI data suggests East Coast migration in port routings

    Journal of Commerce - Mar 25, 2017 9:36AM EDT - Sat Mar 25 13:36:17 UTC 2017

    Intermodal had a tough year in 2016, and weakness in the business of moving containers inland was one reason. But the pain wasn’t uniform across the system. A review of where such volumes, known as inland point intermodal, rose and fell can tell us something about changes occurring in the...

  • Near-sourcing in wind energy to impact breakbulk growth

    Journal of Commerce - Mar 25, 2017 9:21AM EDT - Sat Mar 25 13:21:28 UTC 2017

    A gale of change is blowing in the wind energy industry, a growing market that’s a project cargo mainstay. When multipurpose vessels began carrying windmill blades and turbines in large numbers about 15 years ago, they were something of a curiosity. Now the industry is well-established globally, a development with positive...

  • US bill reintroduced to prevent labor slowdowns, disruptions

    Journal of Commerce - Mar 24, 2017 3:37PM EDT - Fri Mar 24 19:37:20 UTC 2017

    The US West Coast labor dispute in 2014 and 2015 inspired the bill. WASHINGTON — US lawmakers have reintroduced legislation that would redefine labor slowdowns at US ports as unfair labor practices, effectively enabling the federal government to crack down on disruptive labor maneuvers and “injured parties” to demand monetary reward...

  • Trailer Bridge extends Dominican Republic niche service

    Journal of Commerce - Mar 24, 2017 3:02PM EDT - Fri Mar 24 19:02:13 UTC 2017

    Trailer Bridge will soon be the sole operator of barges on the US-Puerto Rico trade. Trailer Bridge is developing a new niche with 53-foot containers on a twice-weekly service to Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic, while weathering a difficult US mainland-Puerto Rico market. The Santo Domingo service was launched six months ago. It...

  • Eastbound trans-Pac spot rates fall ahead of spring restock

    Journal of Commerce - Mar 24, 2017 3:00PM EDT - Fri Mar 24 19:00:45 UTC 2017

    Trans-Pacific spot rates are unlikely to fall to the historic lows of 2016. Spot rates in the eastbound Pacific dropped for the eighth straight week, dipping 4 percent from last week and still seeking a floor before cargo volumes begin to build later this spring. Historically, peak-season volumes can be at...

  • Schneider, largest private US trucking firm, launches IPO

    Journal of Commerce - Mar 24, 2017 1:18PM EDT - Fri Mar 24 17:18:08 UTC 2017

    After the IPO, there will be no privately held companies in the Top 10 US trucking companies. Schneider National, the largest privately owned US trucking company, plans to raise stock between $281 million and $359 million in net proceeds in an initial public offering company, and an additional $217 million to...

  • Hapag-Lloyd missing out on rising spot freight rates

    Journal of Commerce - Mar 24, 2017 12:59PM EDT - Fri Mar 24 16:59:02 UTC 2017

    Like other container lines, Hapag-Lloyd reported stronger volumes in the second half of 2016. Hapag-Lloyd said it’s facing a challenging start to 2017 as long-term contracts are limiting its ability to cash in on rising spot market rates as it focuses on the launch of THE Alliance next month and the...

  • PSA International volume rises, profit drops

    Journal of Commerce - Mar 24, 2017 11:52AM EDT - Fri Mar 24 15:52:33 UTC 2017

    Last year, 2016, was difficult for most global marine terminal operators. PSA International announced a 7.5 percent drop in net profit to $1.17 billion Singapore dollars ($837 million) in 2016 despite rising volumes and revenues at its global operations. The global terminal operator handled 67.63 million twenty-foot-equivalent units (TEUs) last year, an...

  • Rhenus acquires 40 percent of Arkon Shipping

    Journal of Commerce - Mar 24, 2017 10:53AM EDT - Fri Mar 24 14:53:23 UTC 2017

    Rhenus Group wants to expand its presence in European short-sea shipping. German logistics operator Rhenus Group has acquired a 40 percent stake in Arkon Shipping, which manages a fleet of more than 120 seagoing vessels in European coastal and container feeder services and global heavy lift and project shipping. The companies said...

  • Japan orders Yusen to shut down customs operations

    Journal of Commerce - Mar 24, 2017 9:48AM EDT - Fri Mar 24 13:48:42 UTC 2017

    Yusen Logistics has said it will strive to ensure such mistakes do not happen again. Japanese authorities have ordered Yusen Logistics Co. to completely suspend its customs clearance operations in the country for more than two months for violating the Customs Brokerage Act by making false declarations. Tokyo Customs, Nagoya Customs, Osaka...

  • DP World Cochin upbeat despite trade concerns over tariff hike

    Journal of Commerce - Mar 24, 2017 9:17AM EDT - Fri Mar 24 13:17:34 UTC 2017

    Traffic at the port of Cochin is projected to set a new record in the 2016 to 2017 fiscal year. Though trade and shipper associations maintain that a tariff increase set for April 1 could dampen strong growth at the International Container Transshipment Terminal (ICTT) at India’s port of Cochin, terminal...

  • Indian dockworkers threaten strike to block port reform

    Journal of Commerce - Mar 24, 2017 9:00AM EDT - Fri Mar 24 13:00:38 UTC 2017

    A strike at Jawaharlal Nehru Port Trust would reverberate through the Indian economy. India’s major ports, which together account for roughly 70 percent of the country’s total container trade, face a fresh threat of labor stoppages next month after the government cleared new legislation reforming the public port system. Labor groups representing...

  • Asia-Europe spot rates ease even on tight space

    Journal of Commerce - Mar 24, 2017 4:34AM EDT - Fri Mar 24 08:34:30 UTC 2017

    Capacity on ships out of the Port of Rotterdam, and other North European hubs, remains tight. There was little movement in China-North Europe spot rates this week, and even though the prices from Europe to China have eased since the mid-March highs, the eastbound rate remains well above that reached during...

  • Shippers seek China-Europe rail option from forwarders

    Journal of Commerce - Mar 23, 2017 11:34PM EDT - Fri Mar 24 03:34:34 UTC 2017

    Asia-Europe railway services continue to grow in popularity. Forwarders are reporting increasing demands from shippers to include the China-Europe rail option in their portfolio of services as the intercontinental land bridge becomes a viable alternative to air and ocean transport.While the vast majority of containers on the rail route move via...

  • Container lines defend against collusion suspicion

    Journal of Commerce - Mar 23, 2017 4:24PM EDT - Thu Mar 23 20:24:28 UTC 2017

    Container lines say their poor earnings through 2016 are sufficient evidence that they did not collude on rates. After US antitrust investigators subpoenaed major global ocean carriers last week, liner executives say they’re in compliance with regulations and note that suspicions of collusion don’t coincide with the low rates in the market today. The...

  • Slow growth spurs need for efficiencies via technology

    Journal of Commerce - Mar 23, 2017 4:13PM EDT - Thu Mar 23 20:13:34 UTC 2017

    There’s no question that the global shipping industry has been working many years to digitalize the common transactions, processes, and communication involved with container shipping. Over the years, some companies have embraced technology solutions more than others, but it’s certainly not brand-new.  What is new is the heightened focus, which is...

  • Cosco avoids predicted 2016 loss

    Journal of Commerce - Mar 23, 2017 3:32PM EDT - Thu Mar 23 19:32:00 UTC 2017

    Cosco Shipping Holdings also provided some details about how it plans to operate in the future. Cosco Shipping Holdings blamed excess capacity and weak volume growth for a 29 percent year-over-year decline in profit, to 237.2 million Hong Kong dollars ($30.5 million), a far better performance than the $1.4 billion loss...

  • Eddie Stobart, top UK trucker, unveils IPO plan

    Journal of Commerce - Mar 23, 2017 3:26PM EDT - Thu Mar 23 19:26:28 UTC 2017

    Eddit Stobart was established in 1970 and now has 3,800 drivers. Eddie Stobart, one of the UK’s largest trucking companies, Thursday said it aims to raise around £130 million ($165 million) through a listing on London’s secondary stock market. The group, which is also active in rail transport and logistics, is targeting...

  • US truck regulators drop rulemaking, put CSA in limbo

    Journal of Commerce - Mar 23, 2017 1:26PM EDT - Thu Mar 23 17:26:01 UTC 2017

    Trucking companies have been adamant in their opposition to the Compliance, Safety, Accountability program. The future of the Compliance, Safety, Accountability or CSA program, the Obama-era initiative that aimed to transform how US truck safety regulations are enforced, increasingly is in doubt. US regulators Thursday scrapped a rule that would have...

  • Trucker blockade adds to Brazilian meat shippers' woes

    Journal of Commerce - Mar 23, 2017 12:28PM EDT - Thu Mar 23 16:28:38 UTC 2017

    Truckers are demanding higher pay from terminals in the ports of Itapoa and Itajai. Brazilian meat shippers reeling from the shock of bans on their products in key markets have suffered another blow as truckers blockaded Porto Itapoa, an important gateway for chicken exports. Independent truck drivers blocked the entrance to the...

Posted: 23 May 2012, last updated 23 May 2012

See more from Containerization in the United States

Expert Views    
Article form Supply Chain Management Review   By Danbee Investigations
Hot Tips    
Datamyne Blog making trade data work for you   By Datamyne, Inc.
Tips for Estimating Freight Charges   By Pallet Consultants Corp - Cargo Division
Latest News    
Supply Chain Logistics News from The Journal of Commerce   By The Journal of Commerce
Presenting the contributor
The Journal of Commerce

The Journal of Commerce

Global Trade & Logistics News